The Center for Digital Government honored selected public agencies and leaders for their outstanding information technology (IT) innovations and contributions at the 2010 Best of Texas awards ceremony held in Austin on February 18.

"Through their diligence and determination to serve the citizens of Texas with technology that enhances interaction with government, this year's winners truly embody what public service is really about", said Cathilea Robinett, executive vice-president for the Center for Digital Government. "These individuals and teams are great examples of how working together to solve difficult issues in infrastructure and delivery can produce superb products with greater efficiency and access for citizens. Congratulations to all of you."

The Best of Texas awards program was established to salute IT professionals and local government organizations for their dedication, hard work and contributions in the state of Texas. Winners are selected based on a set of criteria, including collaboration among agencies, innovative use of technology and improvement of services and business processes for citizens and state and local government employees.

Best of Texas Awards - 2010 Winners

Visionary Award

City of Manor, Texas

Excellence in Leadership Award

Jake Nicholson, Information Resources Manager

Department of State Health Services

Excellence in Leadership Award

Richard B. Goldgar, Ph.D.

Deputy Chief Information Officer/Chief Technology Officer

Texas Education Agency

Project Excellence Award


Texas Department of Family & Protective Services

Project Excellence Award

MyCity: Houston's Enterprise Geographic Information System

City of Houston Planning & Development

Project Excellence Award

Amarillo Emergency Communications Center

City of Amarillo, Texas

Special Award for Technology Innovation

Consolidated Entitlements Management System

Texas Education Agency

Click here for more information on the winners.