Winners of the 2008 Best of the Web and Digital Government Achievement Awards have been announced by e.Republic's Center for Digital Government. The top state and local government Web portal and application awardees will be honored at the 12th annual Awards Gala on Sept.12 in Hollywood, Calif.

Judges from all over the nation determined the winners. Best of the Web recognizes the most innovative, user-friendly state and local government portals while the Digital Government Achievement Award recognizes outstanding agency and department Web sites and applications.

Cathilea Robinett, executive vice president of the Center for Digital Government, said "Each year, state and local governments continue to make strides toward implementing better access and more efficient Web delivery of public services. This year's winners represent the very best in each category. The center applauds all the honorees for their diligence and hard work." 

2008 Best of the Web Awards

State Portal Category:

  • 1st Place: Virginia
  • 2nd Place: Maine
  • 3rd Place: California
  • 4th Place: Texas
  • 5th Place: Alabama and Rhode Island

View Full Story