Disaster Zone

Charitable & Outreach Organizations

I copied the list below from the Disaster Resource Guide's email list. As emergency managers

by Eric Holdeman / January 3, 2009
I copied the list below from the Disaster Resource Guide's email list. As emergency managers I think it is important that we give of our own personal treasure to appropriate nonprofit causes. Yes, we dedicate time and effort to our work, but where would you be in times of disaster if you didn't have the nonprofit community helping?

This is perhaps not an exhaustive list, but there are plenty of organizations to pick from. Make 2009 a year that you decide to donate from your personal finances--if you are not already doing so.

I personally donate to serveral national and local charities. Hard to believe, but World Vision's headquarters is only about 10 miles from where I live.

RELIEF, CHARITABLE & OUTREACH ORGANIZATIONS
Action Against Hunger: www.aah-usa.org
ADRA International: www.adra.org
Africa Leadership Mocha Club: www.africanleadership.org
Air Serv International: www.airserv.org
American Friends Service Committee: www.afsc.org
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, Inc: www.jdc.org
American Jewish World Service: www.ajws.org
American Red Cross: www.redcross.org
AmeriCares: www.americares.org
America's Second Harvest: www.secondharvest.org
Ananda Marga Universal Relief Team (AMURT): www.amurt.net
ARMDI, Israeli Red Cross: www.armdi.org
Association for India's Development: www.aidindia.org
B'nai B'rith International: www.bnaibrith.org
Baptist World Aid: www.bwanet.org/bwaid
Big Brothers Big Sisters: www.bbbsi.org and www.bbbsa.org
Brother's Brother Foundation: www.brothersbrother.org
CARE: www.care.org
Catholic Charities USA: www.catholiccharitiesusa.org
Catholic Relief Services: www.catholicrelief.org
Christian Children's Fund: www.christianchildrensfund.org
Christian Disaster Response: www.cdresponse.org
Christian Reformed World Relief Committee: www.crwrc.org
Church World Service: www.churchworldservice.org
Concern Worldwide: www.concernusa.org
Convoy of Hope: www.convoyofhope.org
Corporation for National and Community Service Disaster Relief Fund: www.nationalservice.gov
Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption: www.davethomasfoundationforadoption.org
Direct Relief International: www.directrelief.org
Disaster Psychiatry Outreach: www.disasterpsych.org
Doctors Without Borders: www.doctorswithoutborders.org
Episcopal Relief and Development: www.er-d.org
Food for the Hungry, Inc.: www.fh.org
Feed the Children: www.feedthechildren.org
Habitat for Humanity International: www.habitat.org
Heart to Heart International: www.hearttoheart.org
Humane Society of the United States: www.hsus.org
International Aid: www.internationalaid.org
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies: www.ifrc.org
International Medical Corps: www.imcworldwide.org
International Orthodox Christian Charities: www.iocc.org
International Relief Teams: www.IRTeams.org
International Rescue Committee: www.theIRC.org
Islamic Relief Worldwide: www.islamic-relief.com
Kick Start: http://kickstart.org/
Latter-Day Saint Charities: www.lds.org/ldsfoundation
Lutheran World Relief: www.lwr.org
MAP International: www.map.org
Mennonite Disaster Service: www.mds.mennonite.net
Mercy Corps: www.mercycorps.org
Nazarene Disaster Response: www.nazarenedisasterresponse.org
National Mentoring Partnership: www.mentoring.org
Network for Good: www.networkforgood.org
Northwest Medical Teams: www.nwmedicalteams.org
Operation Blessing International: www.ob.org
Operation USA: www.opusa.org
Oxfam America: www.oxfamamerica.org
Oxfam International: www.oxfam.org
Plan USA: www.planusa.org
Presbyterian Disaster Assistance: www.pcusa.org
Prison Fellowship International: www.pfm.org
Project Concern International: www.projectconcern.org
Project HOPE: www.projecthope.org
Relief International: www.ri.org
Salvation Army: www.salvationarmy.org
Save the Children USA: www.savethechildren.org
Share Our Strength: www.strength.org
Stop Hunger Now: www.stophungernow.org
U.N. World Food Programme: www.wfp.org
UMCOR: www.umcor.org
UNICEF: www.unicef.org
USAID: www.usaid.gov
Water Missions International: www.watermissions.org
World Concern: www.worldconcern.org
World Emergency Relief: www.worldemergencyrelief.org
World Hope International: www.worldhope.org
World Relief: www.worldrelief.org
World Vision: www.worldvision.org