Nov 6, 2014

"Fellow CIOs and IT colleagues, I’m excited to tell you about the upcoming Texas CIO Academy on November 6, and hope you’re planning to attend! This premier technology event is exclusively for IT professionals in the public-sector leadership community. The Academy is a great venue for all of us to sharpen skills that center around strategic thinking, leadership development, and innovative service delivery. At the event you’ll hear from state leaders and well known experts in leadership and technology. We’ll also have the opportunity to visit with our private-sector partners and explore the innovative technology products and services they offer. I look forward to seeing you all at this important event and together, learning how we can better serve Texans."

- Karen Robinson, State of Texas CIO, Executive Director — Texas Department of Information Resources

Texas Public Sector CIO Academy 2014

Produced in association with:


This invitation-only event brings together the C-level community unlike any other conference. Developed by and for government, the Texas CIO Academy is designed to address the most important policy, management and leadership issues surrounding the future of digital government and the role of the public sector CIO in the State of Texas.

This year's Topics include:

  • Better Services through Smart Cities
  • Cybersecurity Incident Response – Fortune Favors the Prepared!
  • CI “Whoa!” – Where is the CIO Role Heading?
  • New Technologies – Is big data the new oil or is there an app for that?
  • Pipeline Kinked? Improve Your Processes to Streamline Your IT System
  • Attracting and Recruiting the Next Generation Public Sector IT Workforce


Keynote Speakers:

Joe Contrera headshotGetting Beyond Great! How to Achieve Extraordinary Results!

Joe Contrera, President & Founder, ALIVE@WORK LLC

Getting Beyond Great! How to Achieve Extraordinary Results!
In today’s fast-faced world, simply being average isn’t going to get you anywhere.  Don’t settle for “just good enough.” If you want to compete in today’s global economy, you, your people and your organization need to be extraordinary!

In this dynamic employee empowerment presentation, Joe will reveal:
•    Why some people (and companies) get stuck being “average.”
•    How to sustain long-term change and success.
•    How you and your people might actually be creating the exact opposite of the results you want.
•    How to shift the results you’re getting to the results you want.



Anthony Huey headshot

Communicating in a Crisis - 30 Years of Work Destroyed in 30 Seconds

Anthony Huey, Owner, Reputation Management Associates

Somewhere within every organization, a crisis is waiting to happen. Maybe tomorrow, maybe next year or even in five years; you can’t be sure what the crisis will be or when it will strike. But you can be sure that a crisis will put your organization’s hard earned image and reputation up for grabs. Learn how to control the flow of information and communicate with the media, and many other audiences, during a crisis.


Registration Information

This is an invitation only event.


Contact Us

For registration and general assistance contact:

Lee Vang, Registration Coordinator
Government Technology
Phone:  (916) 932-1407

Sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information, contact:

Heather Earney, Sales Operations Manager
Government Technology
Phone:  (916) 932-1435