Arizona Recognizes IT Leaders with Annual Awards Program

Inaugural program awards Arizona's best and brightest IT professionals in the public sector.

by / May 25, 2010

Arizona has launched a new awards program that is recognizing the state's best and brightest public-sector IT professionals.

The state gave two categories of awards at the ceremony May 18, held for the first time at the Arizona Digital Government Summit in Phoenix. Several honorees were selected for recognition as an Outstanding IT Professional by an agency or jurisdiction's CIO. The program also gave the Vision and Leadership in Government Award, presented to one public servant who has shown leadership, dedication and innovation.

Jim Wang, CIO of Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS), took home the inaugural Vision and Leadership in Government Award. Working at the AHCCCS since 1991, under Wang's leadership the system has achieved Level 2 certification for the Department of Defense's Capability Maturity Matrix. The AHCCCS is the Virtual Office pilot for the state, and currently has about 350 employees using that environment to work from remote locations.

Wang also was instrumental in Arizona's partnership that has developed, operated and maintained Hawaii's Medicaid system.

Several IT professionals working in Arizona's state and local government took home the Outstanding IT Professional award:

Paul Barry, IT specialist for the Arizona Historical Society;

Richard Kocher, systems architect; and Dan Lippert, applications manager, for the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System;

Tim Smothers, former president of the Arizona Geographic Information Council and Peoria's GIS Manager;

Lynn Fraser, data administration team lead for Phoenix;

Jovonne Flores, data center operations manager; and Marty Marsh, mainframe applications of the Arizona Financial Information Systems (AFIS), for the Arizona Department of Administration;

The Arizona Department of Environmental Quality's Technical Support Services Team:
Janine Blake, David Crowfoot, Sunitha Atluri, Carolyn Davis, Gordon Esra, Ken Esra, Tom Kelly and Matt Marshall;

Ryan Sadler, Women, Infants and Children (WIC) project control manager for the Department of Health Services;

The Arizona Department of Public Safety's Applications Development Team: David Rowand, supervisor; and analysts Linda Erickson, Phillis Hales, Sandy Krishnan, Krishnan Srinivasan and Glenn Tomooka;

Cristy Schaan, information security officer of the Arizona Department of Revenue;

Rod Franklin, network operations manager for the Arizona Supreme Court, Administrative Office of the Court;

Geoffrey Shoemaker, technical and Web support specialist for the Governor's Office;

Sky Southwell, IT architect for the Maricopa County Attorney's Office; and

Clif Summers, applications support manager for Yuma County.