Best of New York Winners Announced

New York state’s top public-sector technology workers and teams recognized for innovative projects at awards ceremony.

by / September 24, 2010

New York state’s top public-sector technology workers and teams were recognized for their innovative projects and best practices at an awards ceremony Wednesday, Sept. 22.

The recognitions were given at an awards ceremony during GTC East: The New York Digital Government Summit 2010 event in Albany. The awards were selected by the Center for Digital Government, a research division of e.Republic Inc., the parent company of Government Technology magazine.

“The people and projects honored represent the best of the best in New York’s IT enterprise. New York is proud of its public-sector IT work force and is grateful for the dedication, hard work, and innovative contributions they make every day to leverage information technology to deliver superior government services to our citizens and businesses,” Melodie Mayberry-Stewart, CIO and director of the New York State Office for Technology, said in a prepared statement.

The awardees are:

Visionary Awards

New York City Council Stat Team
New York Senate Office of the CIO
NYS Broadband Development and Deployment Council

Excellence in Leadership Award

Timothy C. Idoni, Westchester County Clerk

Project Excellence Awards

Controlled substances — Online Practitioner Notification Program, New York state (NYS) Department of Health
CouncilStat, New York City Council
Facial Recognition System, NYS Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Empire 2.0 Create, Connect and Collaborate, Chief Information Office/Office for Technology
NYS Department of Taxation and Finance call center upgrade, NYS DTF
NYS Department of Transportation American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, NYS DOT
Open Senate, NYS Senate
Oversize/overweight automated permitting, NYS DOT
The Online Clearance System (OCS), Office of Children and Family Services
Westchester County Clerk Property Records Electronic Portal

Excellence in IT Operations, Support and Service Awards

Stefanie Obkirchner, manager of IT services 1
NYS Office of Real Property Services

Donna Pogroszewski, director
Monroe Community College Communications and Network Services

Quincin Gonjon, senior IT associate/Internet security officer
Queensborough Community College (CUNY)

Estelle Council, IT Specialist 3
NYS Division of Parole

Nelson Rivera, CIO/director
Monroe County Department of Information Services

Don Welsh, lead database administrator
NYS Office of Cyber Security

Kim Matteo, enterprise plans to procure (PTP) coordinator
Chief Information Office/Office for Technology

Charles Stearns, manager of IT services
NYS Department of Health

William P. Scialdo, manager of applications and business analysis
Office of the Medicaid Inspector General

Carlos J. Cardona, IT Specialist 4
NYS Thruway Authority

Ken Zalewski, director of e-government infrastructure
NYS Senate

Mary Lou Malinowski, director, Welfare Management Systems (WMS) statewide systems
Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance