URISA Leaders Recognized at Annual Conference

Haley worked for the city of Calgary in the Information Technology Services Department for 21 years.

by / September 6, 2007

Photo: Dianne Haley receives award.

URISA Leadership Award

The URISA Leadership Award is presented to members who have demonstrated exemplary leadership to URISA, creativity, innovation, and dedicated support of URISA programs. This year's Leadership Award recipient is Dianne Haley.

Haley has worked in the field of automated mapping and GIS for the last 32 years. She is currently the GIS Program Coordinator for the Alberta Energy & Utilities Board and has held that position since July 2003. Previously, Haley worked for the city of Calgary in the Information Technology Services Department for 21 years. She has a BSc in geography from Queen's University, a Certificate in information systems management from the University of Calgary, a Certificate in theoretical and applied GIS from Simon Fraser University, and an MSc in GIS from the University of Huddersfield.

Haley is a past president of URISA International, and has been a member of URISA both at the chapter and international level for 19 years. She has served on numerous URISA committees over the years and is currently a member of the GISCorps Core Committee, the URISA Conference Program Committee, the ESIG Awards Committee and the URISA Leadership Academy Committee.

URISA Service Award

The URISA Service Award is presented to members who have demonstrated faithful service to URISA and have participated in its programs over a period of several years. The award is for service in a number of programs or committees, and a willingness to take on challenges without regard to the potential for recognition. Michael Lovett and Lynda Wayne, GISP are both recipients of a 2007 URISA Service Award.

Michael W. Lovett, senior project manager-lead practitioner, Camp Dresser & McKee Inc. Lovett has over 38 years of public- and private-sector experience in information management systems (IMS) for GIS, land surveying, aerial photography, photogrammetry, and engineering. He was a team member on the first AM/FM project conducted within the United States. Lovett's management of digital mapping and AM/FM/GIS activities have involved both domestic and international projects on numerous platforms. Lovett is currently providing consulting services for strategic information plans, information systems integration, database design, Web-based applications, data conversion and other GIS implementations.

Lovett has been an active URISA Workshop Development Committee member since 2004 and has been workshop development chair since 2005. He was instrumental in developing and improving the annual peer review process for workshops. He is also a certified instructor for URISA's GIS Program Management Workshop. Lovett is a very engaged member of URISA's Leadership Academy Committee; he's served on the Annual Conference Committee and is the program co-chair of this conference. In 2005-6, he served on the Chapter Relations Committee and he was a participant at the 2005 URISA Visioning Session. Mike is extremely active at the local level, serving in leadership roles for the Florida URISA Chapter for a number of years. He began his leadership role in FLURISA as the east central region director and he also served as secretary, vice president and recently completed two years as president. He is currently serving as past president of the Chapter.

Lynda Wayne, GISP

Lynda Wayne is principal of GeoMaxim, a GIS and geospatial data management practice. She provides metadata and training support to the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) and National Spatial Data Infrastructure Stakeholders. She is the former director of the Louisiana Geographic Information Center at Louisiana State University (LSU) and served as a research scientist with the LSU Coastal Studies Institute specializing in the application of GIS and remote sensing to coastal landscape ecology.

Barbara Hirsch Special Service Award

Presented to members or staff who have made special contributions to URISA. This award was created to honor URISA's former Chief Financial Officer Barbara Hirsch. The award is

given to individuals or committees who have shown a similar consummate level of service to URISA through an ongoing commitment to our success as an organization.

The 2007 Barbara Hirsch Special Service Award is awarded to Allen Ibaugh, GISP. Ibaugh is the CEO of Data Transfer Solutions and leads DTS's transportation and asset management vertical markets for federal, state, regional, local, and private clients.

Ibaugh first joined URISA as a student member and has been an active volunteer in many capacities. He has been involved in the annual conference committee for a number of years and was conference chair for the 2004 event in Reno. Allen concludes his three-year term as a member of the URISA Board of Directors at this conference. He has served as URISA's treasurer during this time and accomplished much in this position, bringing more focus to the organization's financial reporting and analysis.