South Dakota Integrates Video Cameras into Police Cars

Over 100 in-car video cameras will be distributed next week to South Dakota law enforcement

by / March 26, 2004
Attorney General Larry Long and Tom Dravland, secretary of Public Safety, announced that more than 100 in-car video cameras will be distributed next week to South Dakota law enforcement. This is the final phase of distribution. The cameras were funded by an incentive grant for alcohol-impaired driving prevention and by a federal grant for technology obtained by the Police Chief and Sheriff Associations.

"The Office of Public Safety and the Chief and Sheriff Associations are to be commended for their effort in making this a reality," said Long. "Our goal was to equip every law enforcement vehicle in the state with in-car video equipment, and we have successfully obtained this goal."

Local agencies receiving cameras are the police departments in Alcester, Belle Fourche, Beresford, Box Elder, Brookings, Brandon, Canton, Corsica, Deadwood, Elk Point, Estelline, Eureka, Faith, Garretson, Harrisburg, Highmore, Huron, Jefferson, Lead, Leola, Madison, Miller, Mission, Mobridge, Montrose, North Sioux City, Watertown, Worthing, Yankton, USD Campus Police -- and the sheriff's offices of Beadle, Butte, Clark, Davison, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Haakon, Hamlin, Hutchinson, Hyde, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Moody, Pennington, Spink, Sully, Turner, Union and Yankton counties.