Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter announced yesterday the appointment of Scott Martinez of Denver to the Colorado Election Reform Commission. The 11-member Commission was created pursuant to Senate Bill 08-243 (M. Carroll/Gordon) to study the different voting systems used throughout Colorado and suggest changes to the Legislature.

Martinez is an associate at the law firm of Holland & Hart specializing, in part, in election law. He earned his bachelor's degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 2000 and his law degree from the University of San Diego School of Law in 2006.

Other members of the panel include Sen. Ken Gordon, Larimer County Clerk Scott Doyle, Bent County Clerk Patti Nickell, Denver County Clerk Stephanie O'Malley, El Paso County Clerk Bob Balink, Deputy Secretary of State Bill Hobbs, lawyer Scott Gessler, Castle Rock Town Clerk Sally Misare, Mark Baisley of Douglas County and attorney Paul F. Hultin.