Call for Entries Government Experience Awards 2020

The Center for Digital Government invites nominations for its Government Experience Awards, taking digital government awards to the next level by recognizing improved experience of government and service delivery.

by Janet Grenslitt / March 5, 2020

The 2020 Government Experience Awards are now open for nominations!

The Center for Digital Government (CDG) invites nominations for its GOVERNMENT EXPERIENCE AWARDS 2020, where we celebrate achievements and learn best practices from U.S. states, counties, cities, and federal agencies/departments. We will recognize communities that have gone beyond simply using the web to radically improve upon the experience of government and are pushing the boundaries of how services are delivered.

Nominations for both contests must be submitted online by Friday, May 1, 2020.

Overall Experience Awards 

Nomination form

Overall Awards recognize the entire jurisdiction’s citizen/business experience efforts

All U.S. state, county and city governments may nominate their jurisdictions’ user experience in the overall categories.

Overall award categories: State Government, County Government, or City Government

Project Experience Awards 

Nomination form

Project Awards recognize single-focus areas which may include more than one method of engagement such as mobile, web and social media, etc.

U.S. state and local governments, their individual agencies/departments, and U.S. federal agencies/departments may nominate their projects for the Project Experience Awards.

Project award categories: City, County, State or Federal Project Experience

A government jurisdiction may submit nominations for both contests, and for more than one project (nominate each project separately). Nominations must be submitted by government staff/officials

NEW this year: FAQs and a Webinar! 

Use the Frequently Asked Questions link to access both contests’ entry forms online, to download a Word copy of the entry forms, and for more information including the full instructions for using the online tool. The link and slides for the webinar held March 12, with CDG Co-Directors Teri Takai and Phil Bertolini, along with e.Republic’s Chief Innovation Officer Dustin Haisler, will be posted on the FAQs as soon as they are available.  

Top government jurisdictions, agencies and departments will be featured in a half-day Experience Academy. They will be honored at a high-energy, celebratory awards banquet on September 24, 2020, in New Orleans, while also being featured in Government Technology and other publications.

CDG thanks Akamai Technologies, AWS, Google Cloud, Laserfiche, McAfee, NIC, Nutanix, Oracle, SHI, TeamDynamix, Tyler Technologies, Veeam and Verizon as underwriters of the 2020 awards program/academy and banquet.

For questions, please contact: Janet Grenslitt, Director of Surveys and Awards, at .

Platforms & Programs