NACO Elects Officers at Honolulu Conference

Top digital counties named

by / August 13, 2005

(L-R) President Bill Hansell, commissioner, Umatilla County, Ore.; President-Elect Colleen Landkamer, commissioner, Blue Earth County, Minn.; First Vice President Eric Coleman, commissioner, Oakland County, Mich.; Second Vice President Don Stapley, supervisor, Maricopa County, Ariz.; and Immediate Past President Angelo Kyle, commissioner, Lake County, Ill. Photo by David Hathcox, used with permission of NACo

Umatilla County, Ore., Commissioner Bill Hansell was elected president of the National Association of Counties at NACo's Annual Meeting in Honolulu last month, and Maricopa County, Ariz., Supervisor Don Stapley became second vice president.

The nation's top digital-savvy county governments were honored by the Center for Digital Government at the 2005 Digital Counties Survey awards reception as Cathilea Robinett, executive director of the Center, presented the awards and showcased each of the counties' IT initiatives and accomplishments. Complete results of the survey are available online.
Wayne Hanson

Wayne E. Hanson served as a writer and editor with e.Republic from 1989 to 2013, having worked for several business units including Government Technology magazine, the Center for Digital Government, Governing, and Digital Communities. Hanson was a juror from 1999 to 2004 with the Stockholm Challenge and Global Junior Challenge competitions in information technology and education.

Platforms & Programs