IE 11 Not Supported

For optimal browsing, we recommend Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.

Verizon Announces 5G Mobile Service to Come for 20 Cities

These cities, along with others yet to be announced, join Chicago and Minneapolis, which are the first in the world where customers have access to the company’s 5G Ultra Wideband mobility service.

Verizon has announced the next 20 cities in the U.S. that will have access to its 5G Ultra Wideband service this year.

Those cities are Atlanta; Boston; Charlotte, N.C.; Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus, Ohio; Dallas and Houston, Texas; Denver; Des Moines, Iowa; Detroit; Indianapolis; Kansas City, Mo.; Little Rock, Ark.; Memphis, Tenn.; Phoenix; Providence, R.I.; San Diego; Salt Lake City; and Washington, D.C.

They join Chicago and Minneapolis, which already have the service. No specific dates were given for when the service would go live in those cities.

This comes after Verizon previously announced its intention to roll out the mobility service in 30 cities by the end of this year. The company noted that additional cities would be added to this list by the end of the year. In addition, Verizon reiterated it will also roll out its 5G Home broadband Internet service in some of locales, although it did not specify which ones.

Billed as the next evolution in high-speed Internet technology, 5G networks are slowly starting to take hold in communities across the country. Infrastructure challenges, however, have proven to be an obstacle at times.

More information about Verizon’s 5G technology is available here.

Associate editor for Government Technology magazine