11th Annual Digital Cities Survey - 2011 Results

Top Digital Cities in U.S. Recognized by Center for Digital Government

  Nov. 3, 2011 – e.Republic’s Center for Digital Government and Digital Communities Program today announced the top-ranked digital city governments  in the 11th anniversary Digital Cities Survey. The survey focused on results achieved by cities, via the use of technology, in operating efficiencies and realizing strategic objectives despite current fiscal constraints.
“Cities that are investing in technology are capturing cost savings that are critical to continuity of operations and their ability to meet higher demand for services,” said Todd Sander, director of Digital Communities. “The highest-ranking cities in the survey showed great strides in consolidating and enabling shared services, government transparency and communications interoperability. We applaud these innovators as they work in the spirit of collaboration to provide extraordinary value to constituents despite budget setbacks.”
The survey was open to all U.S. cities with a population of 30,000 or more.
The first-place winners in each of the four population classifications are:
  • City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii (250,000 or more population)
  • City of Olathe, Kan. (125,000 – 249,999 population)
  • City of Roseville, Calif. (75,000 – 124,999 population)
  • City of Eden Prairie, Minn. (30,000 – 74,999 population)
This year’s survey was underwritten by AT&T; CDW-G; Hyland Software, developers of OnBase; and Symantec.
Winners will be honored at a special awards ceremony concurrent with the National League of Cities annual conference in Phoenix, Arizona on November 11th. 
Congratulations to the 2011 Digital Cities Survey Winners:
250,000 or more population:
1st City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
2nd City of Seattle, Wash.
3rd Metropolitan Gov’t of Nashville & Davidson County, Tenn.
4th City of Aurora, Colo.
4th City of Chicago, Ill.
5th City of Corpus Christi, Texas
6th El Paso City and County, Texas
7th City of Riverside, Calif.
8th City of Boston, Mass.
9th City of Baltimore, Md.
9th City of Long Beach, Calif.
9th City of Virginia Beach, Va.
10th City of Fort Worth, Texas
10th Louisville Metro Government, Ky.
10th City of San Antonio, Texas
125,000 – 249,99 population:
1st City of Olathe, Kan.
2nd City of Winston-Salem, N.C.
2nd Salt Lake City, Utah
3rd City of Alexandria, Va.
3rd City of Hollywood, Fla.
4th City of Irving, Texas
5th City of Augusta, Ga.
6th City of Hampton, Va.
7th City of Chesapeake, Va.
8th City of Chula Vista, Calif.
9th City of Madison, Wis.
10th City of Modesto, Calif.
75,000 – 124,999 population:
1st City of Roseville, Calif.
2nd City of Lynchburg, Va.
3rd City of Pueblo, Colo.
4th City of Arvada, Colo.
5th City of Ann Arbor, Mich.
5th City of Simi Valley, Calif.
6th City of Thornton, Colo.
7th City of Avondale, Ariz.
8th City of Roanoke, Va.
8th City of Westminster, Colo.
9th City of West Palm Beach, Fla.
10th City of High Point, N.C.
10th City of Independence, Mo.
10th City of Santa Monica, Calif.
30,000 – 74,999 population:
1st City of Eden Prairie, Minn.
2nd Carson City Consolidated Municipality, Nev.
3rd City of North Port, Fla.
4th City of Danville, Va.
5th Town of Jupiter, Fla.
6th Village of Schaumburg, Ill.
7th City of Fayetteville, Ark.
8th Town of Manchester, Conn.
9th City of New Berlin, Wis.
10th Town of Flower Mound, Texas
The Center for Digital Government is a national research and advisory institute on information technology policies and best practices in state and local government.
The Center is a division of eRepublic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation.
Janet Grenslitt
Director of Surveys and Awards