IE 11 Not Supported

For optimal browsing, we recommend Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.

Government Technology's Top 25 Doers, Dreamers and Drivers for 2007

Doers, dreamers and drivers of 2007

For five years, we've dedicated Government Technology's March issue to 25 individuals who are pushing the boundaries of government-as-usual. This year's group, profiled in no particular order on the following pages, may be our most diverse yet.

Our Top 25 for 2006 includes state and local CIOs; governors, mayors and other elected officials; agency directors; and representatives from influential nonprofits and private companies.

What do they have in common? A willingness to challenge convention, confront entrenched bureaucracy and promote innovation. Welcome to Government Technology's annual tribute to the Doers, Dreamers and Drivers who are shaping the future of government.

Brenda Owens, CIO, Florida Department of Law Enforcement

Rafael Mena, CIO, Orange County, Fla.

Betty Ireland, Secretary of State, West Virginia

L. Brooks Patterson, County Executive, Oakland County, Mich. and Phil Bertolini, Deputy County Executive and CIO, Oakland County, Mich.

Bill Richardson, Governor, New Mexico

Eric Holdeman, Director, King County, Wash., Office of Emergency Management

Michael Griffin, Administrator, NASA

Mary Carroll, CIO, Ohio

Agnes Kirk, Chief Security Officer, Washington state Department of Information Services

Doug Robinson, Executive Director, National Association of State Chief Information Officers

Bill Ezell, CIO, Tennessee

Hardik Bhatt, CIO, Chicago

Richard Barton, Co-founder,

Paul Morris, Executive Director, UTOPIA

Stephen Ryan, General Counsel, Free File Alliance

Doug Elkins, former Executive CIO, Arkansas

Thomas Menino, Mayor, Boston

Ogilvie Gericke, Director of Municipal Information Systems, Corpus Christi, Texas; Skip Noe, City Manager, Corpus Christi

Janet Napolitano, Governor, Arizona; Chris Cummiskey, CIO, Arizona

Eric Garcetti, President, Los Angeles City Council

Gov. Tim Pawlenty, Minnesota; Scott Brener, commissioner, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry