Gov. Bill Owens recently announced the appointment of Gregory A. Jenik, Robert S. Feingold, Jack R. Arrowsmith, Nancy J. McCallin, Michael Cooke, Jeffrey M. Wells, and Tambor Williams to the Statewide Internet Portal Authority.

"The Internet should be the fastest entry to a state's products and services. The statewide Internet portal will provide an uncomplicated tool for Colorado citizens and businesses to interface with government," said Owens. "Every Web site of every agency and department will be brought under one umbrella."

The Statewide Internet Portal Authority, established this year by Senate Bill 04-244, is responsible for developing the officially recognized Internet portal that will provide Colorado citizens one-stop access to state products and services.

The Portal Authority is made up of eleven members, seven of whom are appointed by the governor. The chief justice of the Colorado Supreme Court, the president of the Senate, and the speaker of the House of Representatives each appoint one member, with the secretary of state serving ex officio. Members serve for four years and require Senate confirmation.