Computerworld  announced Monday its annual class of Premier 100 IT Leaders for 2008, honoring executives who have led their organizations by mentoring and motivating employees, envisioning innovative solutions to business challenges, and effectively managing and executing IT strategies. Among those honored were 20 IT leaders from education and the public sector.

Local Government

  • Don C. DeLoach, chief information systems officer, City of Tallahassee
  • Hugh Miller, chief technology officer, City of San Antonio
  • Neal A. Puff, CIO Yuma County
State Government
  • Ben L. Berry, CIO, Oregon Department of Transportation
  • Brenda L. Decker, CIO State of Nebraska
  • Sheng Guo, chief technology officer, New York State Unified Court System
  • Teri M. Takai, CIO of Michigan Department of IT, State of Michigan
Federal Government
  • Randall D. Headrick, director of communications and information, Air National Guard CIO, National Guard Bureau A6
  • Charles Scott Lambert, project manager of logistics modernization program, U.S. Army
  • Ram Murthy, director of application systems, Peace Corps
  • Steven J. Spano, director of communications and information headquarters, United States Air Forces Europe,
  • Craig Woods, manager of technology support, United States Postal Service
  • Asif Ahmad, vice president of diagnostic services, CIO, associate dean of academic computing, Duke University Health System and Medical Center
  • Robert G. Henderson, director of cyber infrastructure, University of the Pacific
  • Anthony Hill, CIO, Golden Gate University
  • Michael H. Hites, vice president for planning and IT, CIO, New Mexico State University
  • Joy R. Hughes, vice president for IT, CIO, George Mason University
  • Stephen M. Levin, CIO of University Services, University of Minnesota
  • Joseph J. Tufano, vice president, CIO, St. John's University
  • Michael F. Williams, executive director of IT, Immune Tolerance Network, University of California at San Francisco